close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Footprints In the Desert: The Stones of Taliesin West

Frank Lloyd Wright and the Petroglyphs of Paradise Valley

2018-10-03 18:00:00 2018-10-03 19:30:00 America/Phoenix Footprints In the Desert: The Stones of Taliesin West Civic Center Library

Wednesday, October 03
6:00pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2018-10-03 18:00:00 2018-10-03 19:30:00 America/Phoenix Footprints In the Desert: The Stones of Taliesin West Civic Center Library

When building Taliesin West nearly 100 petroglyphs were found at the base of the adjacent McDowell Mountains. Several of these glyphs were built into the organic layer of Taliesin West.

In the course of constructing Taliesin West atop the rim of Paradise Valley, Frank Lloyd Wright and his apprentices discovered nearly 100 petroglyphs at the base of the adjacent McDowell Mountains.  The ancient carvings were on boulders near where Wright quarried the stones for his winter home.  Inspired by the enigmatic glyphs, Wright integrated several of the glyph-adorned boulders into the organic layer of Taliesin West.  Following a review of Wright's use and placement of boulders, this presentation explores the archeological context of petroglyphs at Taliesin West in order to understand when they were made, by whom, and for what purpose. 


Presented by Aaron Wright, Preservation Archeologist with the non-profit Archeology Southwest in Tucson.  He holds a Ph.D. in anthropology from Washington State University and is the author of the award-winning book Religion in the Rocks: Hohokam Rock Art, Ritual Practice and Social Transformation. 

TAGS: | Adult Education |

Civic Center Library

Phone: 480-312-7323

Opening hours
We're closed Thursday November 22
We're closed Friday November 23
Mon, Nov 12 Closed
(Veterans Day)
Tue, Nov 13 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Nov 14 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Nov 15 9:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Nov 16 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Nov 17 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Nov 18 1:00PM to 5:00PM

Address
3839 N. Drinkwater Blvd.
Scottsdale
AZ 85251
Tel: 480-312-7323

About the library

Opened August 30, 1968

103,000 square feet

73 public-use computers

Café

Eureka Loft collaborative workspace

The Gallery @ the Library art gallery

Upcoming events

Sat, Nov 17, 10:00am - 10:45am
Registration is now closed

Story Time Room
Sat, Nov 17, 10:30am - 11:00am

Story Time Room
Sat, Nov 17, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Youth Area
Sun, Nov 18, 2:00pm - 2:15pm

Story Time Room
Mon, Nov 19, 10:00am - 10:20am

Story Time Room
Mon, Nov 19, 11:00am - 11:20am

Auditorium
Mon, Nov 19, 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Mon, Nov 19, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Nov 20, 9:00am - 1:00pm

Story Time Room
Tue, Nov 20, 10:00am - 10:30am

Story Time Room
Tue, Nov 20, 11:00am - 11:30am

Eureka Loft
Tue, Nov 20, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Rescheduled
Tue, Nov 20, 2:30pm - 4:00pm
New date Tuesday, December 04, 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Story Time Room
Tue, Nov 20, 4:00pm - 4:30pm

Gallery Meeting Room
Tue, Nov 20, 5:30pm - 7:30pm

Eureka Loft
Tue, Nov 20, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Story Time Room
Wed, Nov 21, 10:00am - 10:30am

Story Time Room
Wed, Nov 21, 11:00am - 11:30am

Eureka Loft
Wed, Nov 21, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Nov 21, 1:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Nov 22, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Nov 23, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Sat, Nov 24, 10:00am - 10:45am
Registration is now closed

Story Time Room
Sat, Nov 24, 10:30am - 11:00am

Story Time Room
Sat, Nov 24, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Youth Area
Sun, Nov 25, 2:00pm - 2:15pm

Story Time Room
Mon, Nov 26, 10:00am - 10:20am

Story Time Room
Mon, Nov 26, 11:00am - 11:20am

Auditorium
Mon, Nov 26, 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Canceled
Mon, Nov 26, 5:30pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Nov 27, 9:00am - 1:00pm

Story Time Room
Tue, Nov 27, 10:00am - 10:30am

Story Time Room
Tue, Nov 27, 11:00am - 11:30am

Gold Room
Tue, Nov 27, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Eureka Loft
Tue, Nov 27, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Gallery Meeting Room
Tue, Nov 27, 2:30pm - 4:00pm
Registration is now closed

Gallery Meeting Room
Tue, Nov 27, 5:30pm - 7:30pm

Story Time Room
Wed, Nov 28, 10:00am - 10:30am

Story Time Room
Wed, Nov 28, 11:00am - 11:30am

Eureka Loft
Wed, Nov 28, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Gold Room
Wed, Nov 28, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Wed, Nov 28, 1:00pm - 5:00pm

Eureka Loft
Thu, Nov 29, 9:30am - 12:00pm

Gold Room
Thu, Nov 29, 9:30am - 10:30am

Youth Area
Thu, Nov 29, 10:00am - 10:30am

Story Time Room
Thu, Nov 29, 10:00am - 10:30am

Gold Room
Thu, Nov 29, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Gallery Meeting Room
Thu, Nov 29, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Eureka Loft
Thu, Nov 29, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Youth Area
Fri, Nov 30, 10:30am - 10:45am

Story Time Room
Fri, Nov 30, 10:30am - 12:00pm

Gallery Meeting Room
Fri, Nov 30, 10:30am - 12:30pm

Fri, Nov 30, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Sat, Dec 01, 10:00am - 10:45am
Registration is now closed

Story Time Room
Sat, Dec 01, 10:30am - 11:00am

Story Time Room
Sat, Dec 01, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Youth Area
Sun, Dec 02, 2:00pm - 2:15pm

Story Time Room
Mon, Dec 03, 10:00am - 10:20am

Story Time Room
Mon, Dec 03, 11:00am - 11:20am

Auditorium
Mon, Dec 03, 1:30pm - 4:00pm

Tue, Dec 04, 9:00am - 1:00pm

Story Time Room
Tue, Dec 04, 10:00am - 10:30am

Story Time Room
Tue, Dec 04, 11:00am - 11:30am

Eureka Loft
Tue, Dec 04, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Gallery Meeting Room
Tue, Dec 04, 2:30pm - 4:00pm
Registration is now closed

Gallery Meeting Room
Tue, Dec 04, 5:30pm - 7:30pm

Tue, Dec 04, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Eureka Loft
Tue, Dec 04, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Story Time Room
Wed, Dec 05, 10:00am - 10:30am

Story Time Room
Wed, Dec 05, 11:00am - 11:30am

Eureka Loft
Wed, Dec 05, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Dec 05, 1:00pm - 5:00pm

Auditorium
Wed, Dec 05, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Eureka Loft
Thu, Dec 06, 9:30am - 12:00pm

Gold Room
Thu, Dec 06, 9:30am - 10:30am

Youth Area
Thu, Dec 06, 10:00am - 10:30am

Story Time Room
Thu, Dec 06, 10:00am - 10:30am

Gold Room
Thu, Dec 06, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Eureka Loft
Thu, Dec 06, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Gallery Meeting Room
Thu, Dec 06, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Knowasis
Thu, Dec 06, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Gold Room
Thu, Dec 06, 5:00pm - 7:30pm

Youth Area
Fri, Dec 07, 10:30am - 10:45am

Gallery Meeting Room
Fri, Dec 07, 10:30am - 12:30pm

Fri, Dec 07, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Knowasis
Fri, Dec 07, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Gold Room
Sat, Dec 08, 10:00am - 11:30am

Sat, Dec 08, 10:00am - 10:45am
Registration is now closed

Story Time Room
Sat, Dec 08, 10:30am - 11:00am

Story Time Room
Sat, Dec 08, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Youth Area
Sun, Dec 09, 2:00pm - 2:15pm

Story Time Room
Mon, Dec 10, 10:00am - 10:20am

Story Time Room
Mon, Dec 10, 11:00am - 11:20am

Auditorium
Mon, Dec 10, 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Tue, Dec 11, 9:00am - 1:00pm

Story Time Room
Tue, Dec 11, 10:00am - 10:30am

Story Time Room
Tue, Dec 11, 11:00am - 11:30am

Eureka Loft
Tue, Dec 11, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Auditorium
Tue, Dec 11, 5:00pm - 7:30pm

Gallery Meeting Room
Tue, Dec 11, 5:30pm - 7:30pm

Eureka Loft
Tue, Dec 11, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Story Time Room
Wed, Dec 12, 10:00am - 10:30am

Story Time Room
Wed, Dec 12, 11:00am - 11:30am

Eureka Loft
Wed, Dec 12, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Wed, Dec 12, 1:00pm - 5:00pm

Story Time Room
Wed, Dec 12, 3:00pm - 3:45pm

Wed, Dec 12, 6:00pm - 7:00pm

Eureka Loft
Thu, Dec 13, 9:30am - 12:00pm

Gold Room
Thu, Dec 13, 9:30am - 10:30am

Youth Area
Thu, Dec 13, 10:00am - 10:30am

Story Time Room
Thu, Dec 13, 10:00am - 10:30am

Gold Room
Thu, Dec 13, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Gallery Meeting Room
Thu, Dec 13, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Eureka Loft
Thu, Dec 13, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Youth Area
Fri, Dec 14, 10:30am - 10:45am

Gallery Meeting Room
Fri, Dec 14, 10:30am - 12:30pm

Fri, Dec 14, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Sat, Dec 15, 10:00am - 10:45am
Registration is now closed

Story Time Room
Sat, Dec 15, 10:30am - 11:00am

Story Time Room
Sat, Dec 15, 11:30am - 12:00pm

Auditorium
Sat, Dec 15, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Youth Area
Sun, Dec 16, 2:00pm - 2:15pm

Auditorium
Mon, Dec 17, All day