close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Hometown Happy Hour

Registration now closed

Hometown Happy Hour

Water! Local History Happy Hour With Joan Fudala

2022-04-07 17:00:00 2022-04-07 18:30:00 America/Phoenix Hometown Happy Hour Civic Center Library

Thursday, April 07
5:00pm - 6:30pm

Add to Calendar 2022-04-07 17:00:00 2022-04-07 18:30:00 America/Phoenix Hometown Happy Hour Civic Center Library

Civic Center Library

Copper Gallery, Auditorium

Join us for some non-alcoholic "Mock-tails" and a light snack before hearing about the 50 year history of the water department.

Local History Happy Hour: Water! 

This five-letter word is perhaps the most crucial element in Scottsdale's dramatic evolution from an arid desert to a farming/ranching settlement, to a desirable destination for tourism, business and families. Community Historian Joan Fudala will explore Scottsdale's water history, from the development and use of the canals to today's reclamation and conservation innovations which are emulated by cities around the world.

In celebration of the city of Scottsdale Water Department's 50th anniversary. 

Meet up first in the Copper Gallery, starting at 5 pm, for a beverage and a light snack before listening to the fascinating presentation in the auditorium at 5:30 pm.

Registration is encouraged, but not required. 

Civic Center Library

Phone: 480-312-7323

Opening hours
Mon, Aug 08 10:00AM to 7:00PM
Tue, Aug 09 10:00AM to 7:00PM
Wed, Aug 10 10:00AM to 7:00PM
Thu, Aug 11 10:00AM to 7:00PM
Fri, Aug 12 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Aug 13 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Aug 14 1:00PM to 5:00PM

Address
3839 N. Drinkwater Blvd.
Scottsdale
, AZ 85251
Tel: 480-312-7323

About the library

Opened August 30, 1968

103,000 square feet

73 public-use computers

Café

Loft collaborative workspace

The Gallery @ the Library

Scottsdale Heritage Collection

Upcoming events

Mon, Aug 08, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Auditorium

Mon, Aug 08, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Knowasis
Registration is now closed

Thu, Aug 11, 10:30am - 11:00am
Auditorium

Fri, Aug 12, 10:30am - 11:00am
Youth Area

Mon, Aug 15, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Auditorium

Wed, Aug 17, 10:00am - 11:00am
SHC Program Room

Fri, Aug 19, 10:30am - 11:00am
Youth Area

Mon, Aug 22, 2:00pm - 4:15pm
Auditorium

Thu, Aug 25, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Classroom @ the Loft

Fri, Aug 26, 10:30am - 11:00am
Youth Area

Mon, Aug 29, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Auditorium

Thu, Sep 01, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Knowasis

Tue, Sep 06, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Wed, Sep 07, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Sky Room