close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Library Creatives Workshops

Zine Making Series

2022-02-08 15:00:00 2022-02-08 17:00:00 America/Phoenix Library Creatives Workshops Civic Center Library - Copper Gallery

Tuesday, February 08
3:00pm - 5:00pm

Add to Calendar 2022-02-08 15:00:00 2022-02-08 17:00:00 America/Phoenix Library Creatives Workshops Civic Center Library - Copper Gallery

Civic Center Library

Copper Gallery

Learn from local artists working creatively to reflect their response to history and the present day.

In conjunction with FIRST: Native American Artists Exhibit in the Public Gallery @ Civic Center Library.

Join us for a 3-part workshop series which blends traditional Native American art practices with a contemporary
approach. Participants will be able to use the techniques taught in the workshops to create their own zines.

You may have heard the term “zine” thrown around before and wondered what it is. A zine is a self-published work of original text, poetry, drawings, and images that is reproduced in small quantities. Think of it as a mini-magazine!  Amber McCrary is a Diné poet, zinester and feminist who specializes in creative writing and mixed media. Join her in a 3-part zine workshop series where you will learn creative writing/poetry, collaging and mixed media techniques to make your very own zine publication!

Led by local Native American artists.  Come learn about the history of Arizona and respond creatively with art.

All ages welcome. No prior experience is necessary, and supplies are provided.

Registration required. This is a workshop series, but you can still join for the remaining sessions.

Space is limited, so we will have a waiting list in case of cancellations. 

TAGS: | Arts & Crafts |

Civic Center Library

Phone: 480-312-7323

Opening hours
Mon, Sep 26 10:00AM to 7:00PM
Tue, Sep 27 10:00AM to 7:00PM
Wed, Sep 28 10:00AM to 7:00PM
Thu, Sep 29 10:00AM to 7:00PM
Fri, Sep 30 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sat, Oct 01 10:00AM to 5:00PM
Sun, Oct 02 1:00PM to 5:00PM

Address
3839 N. Drinkwater Blvd.
Scottsdale
, AZ 85251
Tel: 480-312-7323

About the library

Opened August 30, 1968

103,000 square feet

73 public-use computers

Café

Loft collaborative workspace

The Gallery @ the Library

Scottsdale Heritage Collection

Upcoming events

Wed, Sep 28, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Sky Room

Wed, Sep 28, 10:30am - 11:30am
Classroom @ the Loft
Registration is now closed

Wed, Sep 28, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Knowasis

Wed, Sep 28, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Knowasis

Thu, Sep 29, 10:30am - 11:00am
Sky Room

Thu, Sep 29, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Thu, Sep 29, 11:15am - 11:45am
Sky Room

Fri, Sep 30, 10:30am - 10:45am
Youth Area

Mon, Oct 03, 10:30am - 11:00am
Sky Room

Mon, Oct 03, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Mon, Oct 03, 11:15am - 11:45am
Sky Room

Tue, Oct 04, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Tue, Oct 04, 10:30am - 10:50am
Sky Room

Tue, Oct 04, 11:15am - 11:35am
Sky Room

Wed, Oct 05, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Sky Room

Thu, Oct 06, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Thu, Oct 06, 10:30am - 11:00am
Sky Room

Thu, Oct 06, 11:15am - 11:45am
Sky Room

Thu, Oct 06, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Knowasis

Fri, Oct 07, 10:30am - 10:45am
Youth Area

Fri, Oct 07, 4:00pm - 4:30pm
Sky Room

Sat, Oct 08, 10:30am - 11:00am
Sky Room

Sun, Oct 09, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
SHC Program Room

Tue, Oct 11, All day
Public Gallery

Tue, Oct 11, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Classroom @ the Loft

Tue, Oct 11, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Studio @ the Loft

Tue, Oct 11, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Tue, Oct 11, 10:30am - 10:50am
Sky Room

Tue, Oct 11, 11:15am - 11:35am
Sky Room

Tue, Oct 11, 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Knowasis

Tue, Oct 11, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
SHC Program Room,Auditorium

Wed, Oct 12, All day
Public Gallery

Wed, Oct 12, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Sky Room

Wed, Oct 12, 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Knowasis

Thu, Oct 13, All day
Public Gallery

Thu, Oct 13, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Classroom @ the Loft

Thu, Oct 13, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Thu, Oct 13, 10:30am - 11:00am
Sky Room

Thu, Oct 13, 11:15am - 11:45am
Sky Room

Thu, Oct 13, 1:00pm - 3:30pm
Knowasis

Fri, Oct 14, All day
Public Gallery

Fri, Oct 14, 10:00am - 11:30am

Fri, Oct 14, 10:30am - 10:45am
Youth Area

Sat, Oct 15, All day
Public Gallery

Sat, Oct 15, 2:00pm - 3:35pm
Auditorium

Sun, Oct 16, All day
Public Gallery

Mon, Oct 17, All day
Public Gallery

Mon, Oct 17, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Classroom @ the Loft

Mon, Oct 17, 10:30am - 11:00am
Sky Room

Mon, Oct 17, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Mon, Oct 17, 11:15am - 11:45am
Sky Room

Tue, Oct 18, All day
Public Gallery

Tue, Oct 18, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Classroom @ the Loft

Tue, Oct 18, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Tue, Oct 18, 10:30am - 10:50am
Sky Room

Tue, Oct 18, 11:15am - 11:35am
Sky Room

Tue, Oct 18, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Auditorium,Copper Gallery

Wed, Oct 19, All day
Public Gallery

Wed, Oct 19, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Classroom @ the Loft

Wed, Oct 19, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Thu, Oct 20, All day
Public Gallery

Thu, Oct 20, 10:00am - 11:00am

Thu, Oct 20, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Classroom @ the Loft

Thu, Oct 20, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Thu, Oct 20, 10:30am - 11:00am
Sky Room

Thu, Oct 20, 11:15am - 11:45am
Sky Room

Thu, Oct 20, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Fri, Oct 21, All day
Public Gallery

Fri, Oct 21, 10:30am - 10:45am
Youth Area

Sat, Oct 22, All day
Public Gallery

Sun, Oct 23, All day
Public Gallery

Mon, Oct 24, All day
Public Gallery

Mon, Oct 24, 10:30am - 11:00am
Sky Room

Mon, Oct 24, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Mon, Oct 24, 11:15am - 11:45am
Sky Room

Tue, Oct 25, All day
Public Gallery

Tue, Oct 25, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Tue, Oct 25, 10:30am - 10:50am
Sky Room

Tue, Oct 25, 11:15am - 11:35am
Sky Room

Tue, Oct 25, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
SHC Program Room

Tue, Oct 25, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
Copper Gallery,Auditorium

Wed, Oct 26, All day
Public Gallery

Wed, Oct 26, 10:30am - 11:30am
Classroom @ the Loft

Wed, Oct 26, 6:00pm - 6:45pm
Youth Area

Thu, Oct 27, All day
Public Gallery

Thu, Oct 27, 10:30am - 12:00pm
Conversation Space @ the Loft

Thu, Oct 27, 10:30am - 11:00am
Sky Room

Thu, Oct 27, 11:15am - 11:45am
Sky Room

Fri, Oct 28, All day
Public Gallery

Fri, Oct 28, 10:30am - 10:45am
Youth Area