close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Virtual Classics Book Club:Their Eyes Were Watching God

2020-11-21 10:30:00 2020-11-21 11:30:00 America/Phoenix Virtual Classics Book Club:Their Eyes Were Watching God Off Site

Saturday, November 21
10:30am - 11:30am

Add to Calendar 2020-11-21 10:30:00 2020-11-21 11:30:00 America/Phoenix Virtual Classics Book Club:Their Eyes Were Watching God Off Site

Virtual Book Discussion

We're moving into the 20th century this month with Their Eyes Were Watching God, Zora Neale Hurston's classic novel about Janie, a middle-aged Black woman living in rural Florida.

Janie has just returned to Eatonville, Florida after being gone a long time. She is faced with gossip amongst the townspeople about where she's been and what she's been up to. We learn the story of her time away through her conversation with Phoeby, the one person in town who would stick up for her.

We'll meet online to discuss the novel from 10:30-11:30 on Saturday, 11/21.

Everyone who registers will receive an e-mail containing a link to join the discussion.

No camera? No problem. The e-mail to registrants will also have a phone number you can call to join.

Watch our Facebook throughout November for discussion questions about this classic tale of Black life in the early 20th century.

Off Site


Opening hours
Mon, Mar 01 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Tue, Mar 02 Closed
Wed, Mar 03 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Thu, Mar 04 Closed
Fri, Mar 05 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Sat, Mar 06 1:00PM to 5:00PM
Sun, Mar 07 Closed

Address
,

About the library

Upcoming events

Wed, Mar 03, 10:00am - 10:30am
Virtual Event

Wed, Mar 03, 10:00am - 11:00am
Virtual Event
This event is full

Wed, Mar 03, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Virtual program

Thu, Mar 04, 10:00am - 11:00am
Virtual Event

Thu, Mar 04, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Virtual program

Mon, Mar 08, 10:00am - 10:30am
Virtual Event

Mon, Mar 08, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Virtual Event

Wed, Mar 10, 10:00am - 10:30am
Virtual Event

Wed, Mar 10, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
virtual program

Thu, Mar 11, 10:00am - 10:30am
Virtual Event

Thu, Mar 11, 10:00am - 11:00am
Virtual Event
This event is full

Fri, Mar 12, 10:30am - 11:30am
Virtual Event

Fri, Mar 12, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Virtual Event

Mon, Mar 15, 10:00am - 10:30am
Virtual Event

Wed, Mar 17, 10:00am - 10:30am
Virtual Event

Wed, Mar 17, 5:30pm - 6:30pm
virtual program

Thu, Mar 18, 10:00am - 11:00am
Virtual Event
This event is full

Sat, Mar 20, 10:30am - 11:30am
Virtual Event

Mon, Mar 22, 10:00am - 10:30am
Virtual Event

Wed, Mar 24, 10:00am - 10:30am
Virtual Event

Fri, Mar 26, 6:30pm - 7:00pm

Sat, Mar 27, 10:00am - 11:00am
Virtual Event

Sat, Mar 27, 10:30am - 11:30am

Mon, Mar 29, 10:00am - 10:30am
Virtual Event

Wed, Mar 31, 10:00am - 10:30am
Virtual Event

Thu, Apr 01, 10:00am - 11:00am
Virtual Event